Roomgo

How would you rate Roomgo?
grey star
grey star
grey star
grey star
grey star
GB
1 review
3 helpful votes
Follow David K.
Unfollow David K.
Send Message
Share Review
Report Review

Don't bother
May 16, 2019

Don't bother, never had one reply, although I showed "interest" in people looking for a room and my property is a very reasonable price, clean and tidy. Other sites I've used in the past have worked well - I'll have to do more research and check the website reviews before I use another site. This site has terrible reviews which unfortunately I didn't check before paying two months up front. Contacted them and asked for a refund, they said no because Premium Membership is entirely optional - but they could assist me if I got back to them. If this was a proper website I would have had several people contact me with a month without them needing to "assist me". It's either an extremely inefficient website or a scam, either way I wouldn't bother. Make up your own mind. £99.99 down the drain... and they do just enough so you can't claim back through the credit card because the website is still live - but useless.

Date of experience: May 16, 2019
Roomgo -. Roomgo Rep
over a year old

Thank you for your feedback David.

I am so sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied with our services and you’ve been unsuccessful on our website, if you kindly allow me to clarify the situation better for you.

Firstly, I’d like to assure you that we are a genuine classified site that’s been operating in this business for over 16 years and around 22 countries. Just like you come across negative reviews regarding our business I assure you that you’ll come across very positive ones too as is the case of any other business.

The key to being successful on our website is by being pro-active in your search and getting in touch with your matches on a regular basis (sending direct messages and not merely interest messages). Then to ensure a high and positive response rate it is crucial to have a solid ad with high-quality images and detailed description besides other factors.

As you rightly mentioned since the Premium is entirely optional and merely a contact method this is non-refundable unless it has not been used or not working properly. Our Customer Services Team is here to help you and guide you better in your search.

We have already offered to help you but unfortunately, you did not get back to us David, I strongly advise you to drop us an email on contact@roomgo.co.uk and we would gladly assist you further as promised.

Hoping you give our platform another chance and to hear from you soon David.

Meanwhile, I wish you all the best of luck in your future!

New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes
Follow Lynette S.
Unfollow Lynette S.
Send Message
Share Review
Report Review

I reactivated my ad last night to look for a flatmate and realsied my premium had expired. I renewed premium at a cost of $100 plus... my ad is not visible. I've logged in as a prospective tenant & there are only four properties shown in wellington... mine isn't one of them! I've since sent three emails with no response! The third was to ask for my subscription to be credited back to my card as my ad is not visible... no response! Whats going on?

Date of experience: June 9, 2019
Roomgo -. Roomgo Rep
over a year old

Thank you for your feedback.

I am so sorry to hear that your ad is not visible on our website and you haven’t heard back from us or your matches, my sincere apologies for any inconvenience that this might have caused you!

This is very strange indeed as we reply to all our customer requests in a very timely manner, so you are either not locating our replies (check your spam/junk) or we are not receiving your email requests. Please make sure that you are getting in touch with our Customer Services Team through the correct email - contact@roomgo.co.nz

You can also get back to us with a phone number and convenient time slot to drop you a call and assist you further in your search.

Bear in mind that once you post your ad or modify it this has to go through the Moderation Process to be approved first before going live and published on our website. So, it could be that your ad was stuck in the Moderation Process when performing such as test.

Kindly get in touch with our Customer Services Team at your earliest convenience to sort out your account and any further queries you might have.

Looking forward to hearing from you very soon!

Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes
Follow shab k.
Unfollow shab k.
Send Message
Share Review
Report Review

It's been approximately 2 months I have posted my master bedroom listing with roomgo, I can see there are many posting from people who are looking for room with big budget.
I have email & msgs to 114 people.
But initially I didn't receive any single message from any single tenant.
Roomgo suggested me to have premium pass. So, I had that also. But no response until now.
So hence proved, Roomgo is a fake website. Roomgo doing scam with people. I wasted my money (30sgd) and time here.

Date of experience: May 21, 2019
Roomgo -. Roomgo Rep
over a year old

Thank you for your feedback and I am so sorry to hear that you haven’t been hearing back from your matches, apologies for any inconvenience that this might have caused you.

I believe you have just gotten in touch with our Customer Services Team and we have already replied to you and awaiting your feedback to assist you further. As already explained unfortunately the supply (people advertising a room) is much higher than the demand (people looking for a room) in your area on our website whereby the competition is very fierce.

Therefore, you will need to make your Ad not only attractive, but also unique and special. Also, make sure you send personalized messages that are short & effective as very long messages are always a drawback in such cases.

Last but not least to assure you that we are a genuine classified site and far from a scam we offered to extend your Premium Membership completely free of charge just to help you exceptionally in your search

We are looking forward to hearing from you soon and assisting you further.

Wishing you all the best of luck in your search!

New Zealand
1 review
0 helpful votes
Follow Mark C.
Unfollow Mark C.
Send Message
Share Review
Report Review

I'm unable to reply to an Interest message received, it says i have to upgrade to premium account. The only thing i could do was send an interest back to the person.
I should be able to reply via CONTACT person but it says it locked.
I'm using a smartphone.

Date of experience: July 11, 2019
Roomgo -. Roomgo Rep
over a year old

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback Mark!

I am so sorry to hear that you’ve been unable to get back to one of your matches who’ve expressed interest in your ad, apologies for any inconvenience that this might have caused you.

Please note that to contact an advertiser you can either send an interest message (automated message expressing interest in a particular ad) or send a personalised message. As a Basic Member yourself you can only contact and be contacted by the Premium Members (they appear in your search page in blue), they are free to contact and you can just go ahead and send them messages to make further inquiries.

However, communication between you and other Basic members is somewhat restricted on the site, you can only send interest messages to each other indeed, you cannot carry the conversation any further unless one of you upgrades to a Premium Member. Unfortunately, this is how the contacting system on our platform is designed and functions.

Thus, the Premium Membership would in turn grant you unlimited contact to all the users on the website without any restrictions at all Mark.

I hope I was able to clarify our contact options better for you and wishing you all the best of luck in your search!

California
1 review
3 helpful votes
Follow Lyn z.
Unfollow Lyn z.
Send Message
Share Review
Report Review

I had been with Roomgo or easyroommates.com for 5 years. I only got one decent response in 5 years. Most of the profiles I approached never got response back. I doubt these profiles are genuine or fake. Just waste a tremendous time and money to be the premium member without result.
I get more responses and inquiries from Craigslist. Don't bother with Roomgo anymore.

Date of experience: May 26, 2019
Roomgo -. Roomgo Rep
over a year old

Thank you for your feedback and apologies for any inconvenience that may have been caused throughout these years. We highly appreciated that you have been advertising with us for 5 years and really sorry that your results have not been as satisfactory.

May I firstly clarify that we have been operating in the flat-sharing business for over 16 years and in more than 22 countries. The users on the site are absolutely not bogus or fake, they are real people just like you looking for a room or roommate.

In addition, the users are in total control of their search and it is entirely up to you to make the best out of your Premium Membership purchase by being pro-active and getting in touch with your matches regularly. This would encourage a higher response rate and raise your chances of being successful.

It is also very important to include a detailed description on your ad and have high quality images uploaded to attract the users’ attention and add credibility to your ad.

I strongly advise you to get in touch with our Customer Services Team on contact@roomgo.co.uk and they will gladly guide you further in your search if you are willing to give us another try, we will do our best to assist you.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon and wishing you all the best of luck in your search!

Arizona
1 review
6 helpful votes
Follow charles l.
Unfollow charles l.
Send Message
Share Review
Report Review

They have no rooms for rent in an American city with 3.5 million people. So I searched the entire west coast of the country and they only have a handful of rooms for rent in the western United States. I have never seen such a blatant rip off in my life.
EasyRoommates reply said it may be my filters that were causinflg the problem and that they are a legitimate site, but I removed all filters and moved the rent amount I'm willing to pay to the maximum and still no matches in a city of 3.5 million people. EasyRoommates said it's an option to pay for the premium services and while that may be true it also looks like the premium service will give you access to matches you can't see without it. Don't go to the site if you live in the U.S., I don't know about Europe.

Date of experience: September 2, 2018
Roomgo -. Roomgo Rep
over a year old

Thank you for providing us with your feedback Charles and I am so sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied with our services!

Firstly I'd like to reassure you that EasyRoommate is a genuine classified site that has been operating in the flat-sharing business for over 16 years and presents in more than 26 countries around the world, making us the biggest house sharing community in the world.

Also please note that the Premium Membership is merely a contact method to get in touch with all your matches without any restrictions and it is completely optional. Registering on the website, posting your ad and viewing all the listings available is completely for Free. In addition, the quantity or quality of listings available is not controlled by us but by the users themselves.

I'd like to remind you that since our website operates under a matching system, the matches you get are relevant to your location, rent budget and other filters set which are controlled by you. The reason why you were getting very few listings that meet your search criteria is probably due to search filters you have set on your search, or a moving date set far ahead that is hindering your search process. Not to worry we would be more than glad to help you in your search and make things right this time round to help you find what you are looking for. Kindly get back to us either on frank@easyroommate.com or else give us a call on +44 203 695 8756 from 8.30 am to 6.30 pm UK time and we will assist you better.

Apologies for any inconvenience that might have been caused and looking forward to hearing from you soon.

GB
1 review
2 helpful votes
Follow Jay L.
Unfollow Jay L.
Send Message
Share Review
Report Review

Teases you worse than a woman on her reds.
Room go allows you to post a room but you cannot contact anyone without "upgrading to premium" for £17.99 a month and on top of that they don't guarantee you anything. I have been using GUMTREE instead (FOR FREE) and it has worked wonders. I bet they reply with some nonesence and say they are sorry (they're not) and happy to help but they aren't going to help at all... unless you go premium lol.
If out of 10 people someone helps 2 but but scams 8 are they a scammer? The answer is yes Roomgo to many bad reviews to deny it.

Date of experience: January 28, 2020
Roomgo -. Roomgo Rep
over a year old

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, Jay.

Roomgo has been helping its users to find tenants and accommodation since 1999. Our service has created over 5 million room rentals worldwide and we pride ourselves in maintaining the highest quality standards for our customers.

We do have some bad reviews, as any other website, but we work extremely hard to make up for any inconvenience caused and ensure that all our members are completely satisfied.

Jay, I would like to inform you that basic members are actually able to contact Basic and Premium members.
Indeed, we have a free option for our basic users who wish to contact another basic member without upgrading their account. This is the ‘interest messages” option and it allows basic members to send automated messages to other basic members to show their interest in their ads.

Besides, basic members can communicate with Premium Members by exchanging messages and contact information.
Further, kindly note that our Customer Service Team offers the best help possible to all our members regardless of their membership status. We treat all our members equally and our Premium members do not receive any preferential treatment whatsoever.

Jay, we would like to improve your experience on our website. Please contact us on team@roomgo.co.uk and our team would be more than happy to assist you.

We hope to hear from you soon.

The Roomgo CS Team

India
1 review
1 helpful vote
Follow Timbrukah M.
Unfollow Timbrukah M.
Send Message
Share Review
Report Review

... when you read the fine print.

Why the ASA hasn't sanctioned them is beyond me.

They claim not to be an Advertiser, but other than Advertising properties and taking money from both sides of the transaction, what do they actually do?

Could someone please clarify?

Date of experience: April 5, 2017
Roomgo -. Roomgo Rep
over a year old

Dear Timbrukah,

Thank you for your review.

We are indeed not an Advertiser, but a classified website. This means that we do not advertise for ourselves nor for our own properties. As a matter of fact, we do not advertise anything at all on our own website.

Therefore, we are here to facilitate the search and contact between renters and tenants, but that is how far our role goes.
We do not interfere in the rental process itself, we do not take any commission on the rent and we are not responsible of how our users publish their ads.

Our users are able to access to our services for free. We do have a membership called Premium Membership, that allows members to contact other users more easily and to have access to more support from us. However, this does not affect any transactions between our members, this is just an option they choose to take or not.

We are really sorry to learn you have experienced difficulties with the display of the room prices. During the creation of an ad, it is clearly stated that the price entered needs to be per month. But, again we cannot control what users write, this is their own choice.

We will be happy to help you further with your account, if you wish so, you can contact our Customer Service at frank@easyroommate.com.

Singapore
1 review
0 helpful votes
Follow Sue X.
Unfollow Sue X.
Send Message
Share Review
Report Review

I wna to rent Master bedroom to post and upgrade for sometime but no response. Now I want to make sure who is effect and anyone look for Master bedroom in Jurong East, contact me *******, no agent please

Date of experience: August 16, 2019
Roomgo -. Roomgo Rep
over a year old

Thank you for your feedback Sue.

I am so sorry to hear that you have had no response to your ad. I can see that you have used the website 'rentinsingapore.com.sg' to advertise your room and not Roomgo.

If you would like to advertise your room on our website, please feel free to visit our website on www.roomgo.com.sg. Our Customer Service team will be more than happy to assist should you have any question or need any further assistance. You can contact us directly on contact@roomgo.com.sg

Wishing you all the best of luck in your search!

California
1 review
1 helpful vote
Follow Veronica O.
Unfollow Veronica O.
Send Message
Share Review
Report Review

Many years ago (2005) this was a legit place to find fantastic roommates from all over Europe and Asia and Africa.
As time went on, the founders beefed up the site with fake listings and sold out, or just changed the name to bilk every last dollar they could. Because this site is FULL of SCAMMERS! When you have an issue, there is no customer service just watered down apologies that you aren't happy but they are the largest roommate site in the world. Blah blah blah... in otherwords, save your money and your time. This site makes Craisgslist look legit! Also, membership rates doubled since the name change. So more money more SCAMMERS. I won't give them another dime since Roomgo came in to play!

Date of experience: May 9, 2019
Roomgo -. Roomgo Rep
over a year old

Thank you for taking the time in providing us with your feedback!

I am so sorry to hear that you have been dissatisfied with our services lately and more specifically since our name change. If you kindly allow me to clarify this better for you as there seems to be a misunderstanding.

Firstly, I’d like to clarify that we have been operating since 1999 and we first started operating in London UK. However, we quickly started increasingly expanding all around the world and currently operating in more than 22 countries around the world.

Our existence and continuance throughout all these years speak volume that we are a genuine classified site and so are our users, we do not have any fake or bogus listings on our global platform. The motive behind our recent name change to “Roomgo” is to unify all our brands under a single brand to promote mobility and harmonization across all countries we operate in.

Unfortunately, when using an online platform there is always a slight risk of running into a suspicious character who may be trying to target you as the victim of a scam. However, we do have a moderation team in place who work against the clock to ensure a safe environment for our users as much as possible.

As for the Premium Membership plans, these were indeed revised recently and there were some changes in the duration and prices since upon reviewing the cost/day some plans were much cheaper and other too expensive in comparison to our competitors. Thus, some plans’ prices are indeed higher but there are also plans with even lower prices now.

Should you require any further clarifications or assistance you are more than welcome to get in touch with our Customer Services Team on contact@roomgo.co.uk.

Wishing you all the best of luck in your future!

Overview

Roomgo has a rating of 1.6 stars from 83 reviews, indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Reviewers dissatisfied with Roomgo most frequently mention premium membership, easyroommate com and customer service. Roomgo ranks 10th among Roommate sites.

service
10
value
10
shipping
3
returns
5
quality
9