Don't bother, never had one reply, although I showed "interest" in people looking for a room and my property is a very reasonable price, clean and tidy. Other sites I've used in the past have worked well - I'll have to do more research and check the website reviews before I use another site. This site has terrible reviews which unfortunately I didn't check before paying two months up front. Contacted them and asked for a refund, they said no because Premium Membership is entirely optional - but they could assist me if I got back to them. If this was a proper website I would have had several people contact me with a month without them needing to "assist me". It's either an extremely inefficient website or a scam, either way I wouldn't bother. Make up your own mind. £99.99 down the drain... and they do just enough so you can't claim back through the credit card because the website is still live - but useless.
I reactivated my ad last night to look for a flatmate and realsied my premium had expired. I renewed premium at a cost of $100 plus... my ad is not visible. I've logged in as a prospective tenant & there are only four properties shown in wellington... mine isn't one of them! I've since sent three emails with no response! The third was to ask for my subscription to be credited back to my card as my ad is not visible... no response! Whats going on?
Thank you for your feedback.
I am so sorry to hear that your ad is not visible on our website and you haven’t heard back from us or your matches, my sincere apologies for any inconvenience that this might have caused you!
This is very strange indeed as we reply to all our customer requests in a very timely manner, so you are either not locating our replies (check your spam/junk) or we are not receiving your email requests. Please make sure that you are getting in touch with our Customer Services Team through the correct email - contact@roomgo.co.nz
You can also get back to us with a phone number and convenient time slot to drop you a call and assist you further in your search.
Bear in mind that once you post your ad or modify it this has to go through the Moderation Process to be approved first before going live and published on our website. So, it could be that your ad was stuck in the Moderation Process when performing such as test.
Kindly get in touch with our Customer Services Team at your earliest convenience to sort out your account and any further queries you might have.
Looking forward to hearing from you very soon!
It's been approximately 2 months I have posted my master bedroom listing with roomgo, I can see there are many posting from people who are looking for room with big budget.
I have email & msgs to 114 people.
But initially I didn't receive any single message from any single tenant.
Roomgo suggested me to have premium pass. So, I had that also. But no response until now.
So hence proved, Roomgo is a fake website. Roomgo doing scam with people. I wasted my money (30sgd) and time here.
Thank you for your feedback and I am so sorry to hear that you haven’t been hearing back from your matches, apologies for any inconvenience that this might have caused you.
I believe you have just gotten in touch with our Customer Services Team and we have already replied to you and awaiting your feedback to assist you further. As already explained unfortunately the supply (people advertising a room) is much higher than the demand (people looking for a room) in your area on our website whereby the competition is very fierce.
Therefore, you will need to make your Ad not only attractive, but also unique and special. Also, make sure you send personalized messages that are short & effective as very long messages are always a drawback in such cases.
Last but not least to assure you that we are a genuine classified site and far from a scam we offered to extend your Premium Membership completely free of charge just to help you exceptionally in your search
We are looking forward to hearing from you soon and assisting you further.
Wishing you all the best of luck in your search!
I'm unable to reply to an Interest message received, it says i have to upgrade to premium account. The only thing i could do was send an interest back to the person.
I should be able to reply via CONTACT person but it says it locked.
I'm using a smartphone.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback Mark!
I am so sorry to hear that you’ve been unable to get back to one of your matches who’ve expressed interest in your ad, apologies for any inconvenience that this might have caused you.
Please note that to contact an advertiser you can either send an interest message (automated message expressing interest in a particular ad) or send a personalised message. As a Basic Member yourself you can only contact and be contacted by the Premium Members (they appear in your search page in blue), they are free to contact and you can just go ahead and send them messages to make further inquiries.
However, communication between you and other Basic members is somewhat restricted on the site, you can only send interest messages to each other indeed, you cannot carry the conversation any further unless one of you upgrades to a Premium Member. Unfortunately, this is how the contacting system on our platform is designed and functions.
Thus, the Premium Membership would in turn grant you unlimited contact to all the users on the website without any restrictions at all Mark.
I hope I was able to clarify our contact options better for you and wishing you all the best of luck in your search!
I had been with Roomgo or easyroommates.com for 5 years. I only got one decent response in 5 years. Most of the profiles I approached never got response back. I doubt these profiles are genuine or fake. Just waste a tremendous time and money to be the premium member without result.
I get more responses and inquiries from Craigslist. Don't bother with Roomgo anymore.
Thank you for your feedback and apologies for any inconvenience that may have been caused throughout these years. We highly appreciated that you have been advertising with us for 5 years and really sorry that your results have not been as satisfactory.
May I firstly clarify that we have been operating in the flat-sharing business for over 16 years and in more than 22 countries. The users on the site are absolutely not bogus or fake, they are real people just like you looking for a room or roommate.
In addition, the users are in total control of their search and it is entirely up to you to make the best out of your Premium Membership purchase by being pro-active and getting in touch with your matches regularly. This would encourage a higher response rate and raise your chances of being successful.
It is also very important to include a detailed description on your ad and have high quality images uploaded to attract the users’ attention and add credibility to your ad.
I strongly advise you to get in touch with our Customer Services Team on contact@roomgo.co.uk and they will gladly guide you further in your search if you are willing to give us another try, we will do our best to assist you.
Looking forward to hearing from you soon and wishing you all the best of luck in your search!
They have no rooms for rent in an American city with 3.5 million people. So I searched the entire west coast of the country and they only have a handful of rooms for rent in the western United States. I have never seen such a blatant rip off in my life.
EasyRoommates reply said it may be my filters that were causinflg the problem and that they are a legitimate site, but I removed all filters and moved the rent amount I'm willing to pay to the maximum and still no matches in a city of 3.5 million people. EasyRoommates said it's an option to pay for the premium services and while that may be true it also looks like the premium service will give you access to matches you can't see without it. Don't go to the site if you live in the U.S., I don't know about Europe.
Thank you for providing us with your feedback Charles and I am so sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied with our services!
Firstly I'd like to reassure you that EasyRoommate is a genuine classified site that has been operating in the flat-sharing business for over 16 years and presents in more than 26 countries around the world, making us the biggest house sharing community in the world.
Also please note that the Premium Membership is merely a contact method to get in touch with all your matches without any restrictions and it is completely optional. Registering on the website, posting your ad and viewing all the listings available is completely for Free. In addition, the quantity or quality of listings available is not controlled by us but by the users themselves.
I'd like to remind you that since our website operates under a matching system, the matches you get are relevant to your location, rent budget and other filters set which are controlled by you. The reason why you were getting very few listings that meet your search criteria is probably due to search filters you have set on your search, or a moving date set far ahead that is hindering your search process. Not to worry we would be more than glad to help you in your search and make things right this time round to help you find what you are looking for. Kindly get back to us either on frank@easyroommate.com or else give us a call on +44 203 695 8756 from 8.30 am to 6.30 pm UK time and we will assist you better.
Apologies for any inconvenience that might have been caused and looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Teases you worse than a woman on her reds.
Room go allows you to post a room but you cannot contact anyone without "upgrading to premium" for £17.99 a month and on top of that they don't guarantee you anything. I have been using GUMTREE instead (FOR FREE) and it has worked wonders. I bet they reply with some nonesence and say they are sorry (they're not) and happy to help but they aren't going to help at all... unless you go premium lol.
If out of 10 people someone helps 2 but but scams 8 are they a scammer? The answer is yes Roomgo to many bad reviews to deny it.
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, Jay.
Roomgo has been helping its users to find tenants and accommodation since 1999. Our service has created over 5 million room rentals worldwide and we pride ourselves in maintaining the highest quality standards for our customers.
We do have some bad reviews, as any other website, but we work extremely hard to make up for any inconvenience caused and ensure that all our members are completely satisfied.
Jay, I would like to inform you that basic members are actually able to contact Basic and Premium members.
Indeed, we have a free option for our basic users who wish to contact another basic member without upgrading their account. This is the ‘interest messages” option and it allows basic members to send automated messages to other basic members to show their interest in their ads.
Besides, basic members can communicate with Premium Members by exchanging messages and contact information.
Further, kindly note that our Customer Service Team offers the best help possible to all our members regardless of their membership status. We treat all our members equally and our Premium members do not receive any preferential treatment whatsoever.
Jay, we would like to improve your experience on our website. Please contact us on team@roomgo.co.uk and our team would be more than happy to assist you.
We hope to hear from you soon.
The Roomgo CS Team
... when you read the fine print.
Why the ASA hasn't sanctioned them is beyond me.
They claim not to be an Advertiser, but other than Advertising properties and taking money from both sides of the transaction, what do they actually do?
Could someone please clarify?
Dear Timbrukah,
Thank you for your review.
We are indeed not an Advertiser, but a classified website. This means that we do not advertise for ourselves nor for our own properties. As a matter of fact, we do not advertise anything at all on our own website.
Therefore, we are here to facilitate the search and contact between renters and tenants, but that is how far our role goes.
We do not interfere in the rental process itself, we do not take any commission on the rent and we are not responsible of how our users publish their ads.
Our users are able to access to our services for free. We do have a membership called Premium Membership, that allows members to contact other users more easily and to have access to more support from us. However, this does not affect any transactions between our members, this is just an option they choose to take or not.
We are really sorry to learn you have experienced difficulties with the display of the room prices. During the creation of an ad, it is clearly stated that the price entered needs to be per month. But, again we cannot control what users write, this is their own choice.
We will be happy to help you further with your account, if you wish so, you can contact our Customer Service at frank@easyroommate.com.
I wna to rent Master bedroom to post and upgrade for sometime but no response. Now I want to make sure who is effect and anyone look for Master bedroom in Jurong East, contact me *******, no agent please
Thank you for your feedback Sue.
I am so sorry to hear that you have had no response to your ad. I can see that you have used the website 'rentinsingapore.com.sg' to advertise your room and not Roomgo.
If you would like to advertise your room on our website, please feel free to visit our website on www.roomgo.com.sg. Our Customer Service team will be more than happy to assist should you have any question or need any further assistance. You can contact us directly on contact@roomgo.com.sg
Wishing you all the best of luck in your search!
Many years ago (2005) this was a legit place to find fantastic roommates from all over Europe and Asia and Africa.
As time went on, the founders beefed up the site with fake listings and sold out, or just changed the name to bilk every last dollar they could. Because this site is FULL of SCAMMERS! When you have an issue, there is no customer service just watered down apologies that you aren't happy but they are the largest roommate site in the world. Blah blah blah... in otherwords, save your money and your time. This site makes Craisgslist look legit! Also, membership rates doubled since the name change. So more money more SCAMMERS. I won't give them another dime since Roomgo came in to play!
Thank you for taking the time in providing us with your feedback!
I am so sorry to hear that you have been dissatisfied with our services lately and more specifically since our name change. If you kindly allow me to clarify this better for you as there seems to be a misunderstanding.
Firstly, I’d like to clarify that we have been operating since 1999 and we first started operating in London UK. However, we quickly started increasingly expanding all around the world and currently operating in more than 22 countries around the world.
Our existence and continuance throughout all these years speak volume that we are a genuine classified site and so are our users, we do not have any fake or bogus listings on our global platform. The motive behind our recent name change to “Roomgo” is to unify all our brands under a single brand to promote mobility and harmonization across all countries we operate in.
Unfortunately, when using an online platform there is always a slight risk of running into a suspicious character who may be trying to target you as the victim of a scam. However, we do have a moderation team in place who work against the clock to ensure a safe environment for our users as much as possible.
As for the Premium Membership plans, these were indeed revised recently and there were some changes in the duration and prices since upon reviewing the cost/day some plans were much cheaper and other too expensive in comparison to our competitors. Thus, some plans’ prices are indeed higher but there are also plans with even lower prices now.
Should you require any further clarifications or assistance you are more than welcome to get in touch with our Customer Services Team on contact@roomgo.co.uk.
Wishing you all the best of luck in your future!
Answer: Thank you for your kind interest in advertising with us. Yes indeed, we do have rooms available on our website in Spokane WA and all across the US, however your search results would also depend on your rental budget and other search criteria besides the desired location. The first thing is to create an account with us through our Homepage https://www.roomgo.net/ to post your ad, and then you will be able to view all the search results and get in touch with your matches accordingly. Should you require any further assistance or a hand with anything related to your search please feel free to get in touch with our Customer Services Department on contact@roomgo.co.uk and they'd be glad to assist you further. Wishing you all the best of luck in your search!
Answer: Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry to hear that you've been having difficulties accessing your account. There are many reasons that may be causing this issue such as a temporary suspension of your account by our Moderation Team to check some information with you, trying to log-in through a different country website, or merely not entering your log-in credentials correctly. Not to worry simply drop us an email on contact@roomgo.go.uk and we would gladly guide you in accessing your account successfully or even its deletion as per your request. We are looking very forward to hearing from you soon and assisting you further!
Answer: Thank you for your feedback and apologies for any inconvenience caused by our services! I'd like to clarify that the quantity or quality of listings available is not controlled by us, that's something related to your ad and ultimately controlled by you. The matches that you get are relevant to your location, rent price/budget, availability date and other filters as well. I assure you that we have numerous listings added on our website on a daily basis in the USA. Thus I kindly invite you to get in touch with our Customer Services Team on contact@roomgo.co.uk to guide you in having more search results available and assist you further in your search. We are looking very forward to hearing from you soon.
Answer: I am so sorry to hear that the person you were trying to reach turned out to be not advertising at all Karen! Firstly I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused you. There are a number of reasons why this might have happened Karen, it could be that a malicious user created an account fraudulently using this phone number on our website. Also, bear in mind that this might also have been due to a typo mistake either by yourself when ringing her up or by the user herself when inputting her phone number on her account. To assist you further with this and gain a better understanding of the situation would you please get back to us by sending us an email on frank@easyroommate.com providing us the Listing ID of this user in order to check this further. Otherwise, you can always reach us at +44 203 695 8756 from 8.30 am to 6.30 pm UK time. In the same time, you can always go ahead and flag a user's account using the flag option at the bottom of their profiles when you encounter a situation this way the moderation team will investigate and take action immediately. Looking forward to hearing from you soon and helping you further.
Answer: I am so sorry to hear about your situation and I would be glad to help you. Firstly I would like to clarify that Easyroommate does not interfere in the landlord/tenant business. As we are a classified site and not an agency it is entirely up to the user to contact and agree on all the terms of the contract. Since we do not handle the rental process or interfere in the communication or arrangements between members, we will not be able to mediate at this stage. However, I do advise you to go to local police station and file a complaint if you wish and we will be glad to provide any further information that may be required by the authorities, also kindly get back to me at Frank@easyroommate.com with the listing id of this user in order to take the necessary actions. Also, what we can do at this point is to help create a new search ad and we can activate a Premium Membership for you free of charge to help you speed up the search for the ideal room. Apologies for any inconvenience caused and hope to hear from you soon.
Answer: Hi Lilian, Could you kindly ask you for your email address to be able to check the account if the transaction went through? You can also drop me a line at Frank@easyroommate.com Hope to hear from you soon
Answer: Hi Sonya, Thank you for your message. We have websites all over the world, but our head office is in London, UK. Please let us know if you have any other question. You can contact our customer service directly at victoria@easyroommate.com Kind regards, The Easyroommate Team
Answer: Thank you for contacting Easyroommate Sue. I'd be glad to help you with your search and how to have a safe experience while using an online website! First, to be able to check the ad for you I'm going to need the full listing ID, as the one you have posted is missing a number and it did not allow me to find the ad in question. However, the good news is that there is a really easy way to ensure that you are not scammed - First and fore-most - Do not make financial agreements or arrangements with anyone you have not personally met. You can read more about online safety on our FAQS from here: https://easyroommate-us.helpscoutdocs.com/category/245-scams-and-safety and you can also contact our Customer support directly by email as well from here: Victoria@easyroommate.com Thanks again for contacting us and I'm looking forward to helping you further.
Answer: People looking for accommodation are not the only ones at risk. Landlords are also targeted by scammers. Scammers con money from members advertising rooms by sending payment meant to secure a room remotely, usually by cheque. This will seem above board until they ask you for all or part of this payment back. Once you have partially or wholly refunded the payment, you will discover that the initial cheque you received has bounced. Rental scams do not always involve fake payments directly relating to the rent, they may use associated moving costs as another method. For instance, if your new tenant is moving from another country and claims that they have paid for some belongings to be shipped/relocated to your property - they may invent some convoluted story about needing to make a final payment when their shipment arrives, but have unfortunately (and conveniently) had their credit card stolen. We have a strong knowledge of these scams and we have a dedicated team on Easyroommate that works 24/7 to keep the site safe to use. If you encounter any malicious user again, you can go ahead and flag their accounts using the flag option at the bottom of their profiles, this way the moderation team will take action immediately. We are always here to help you if you would like to check any accounts or if you need any assistance using the site, our email address is: Victoria@easyroommate.com
Answer: Dear Adam, Thank you for your message. To be able to check the interests in your area you need to go to the section for posting a room. This section appears in green on the right-hand side, at the top of the Home Page. From there you will need to enter the address, to select some details about the room and to register your email address. Once your ad is created, you can go to the Search section and see all the profiles for potential flatmates. This is absolutely free and does not commit you to anything. You can also access to the section by clicking on the link below. http://www.easyroommate.com/content/have/profilehave.aspx?id=1&opt=H If you prefer, I can also do the search for you. If you send me in which city you are, I will be able to send you the number of potential flatmates that are currently looking for a room in your area. I would also like to draw your attention that we do have a Customer Service email address, in case you have other questions, or if you want to get back to us directly: victoria@easyroommate.com You can see our FAQ by following the below link: http://easyroommate-us.helpscoutdocs.com/ I hope you will find this helpful. I wish you best of luck on our website. Customer Service Team Easyroommate
Roomgo has a rating of 1.6 stars from 83 reviews, indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Reviewers dissatisfied with Roomgo most frequently mention premium membership, easyroommate com and customer service. Roomgo ranks 10th among Roommate sites.
Thank you for your feedback David.
I am so sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied with our services and you’ve been unsuccessful on our website, if you kindly allow me to clarify the situation better for you.
Firstly, I’d like to assure you that we are a genuine classified site that’s been operating in this business for over 16 years and around 22 countries. Just like you come across negative reviews regarding our business I assure you that you’ll come across very positive ones too as is the case of any other business.
The key to being successful on our website is by being pro-active in your search and getting in touch with your matches on a regular basis (sending direct messages and not merely interest messages). Then to ensure a high and positive response rate it is crucial to have a solid ad with high-quality images and detailed description besides other factors.
As you rightly mentioned since the Premium is entirely optional and merely a contact method this is non-refundable unless it has not been used or not working properly. Our Customer Services Team is here to help you and guide you better in your search.
We have already offered to help you but unfortunately, you did not get back to us David, I strongly advise you to drop us an email on contact@roomgo.co.uk and we would gladly assist you further as promised.
Hoping you give our platform another chance and to hear from you soon David.
Meanwhile, I wish you all the best of luck in your future!